The Clifford Prize for Cancer Research

The Clifford Prize for Cancer Research

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Clifford Prize for Cancer Research 

The Clifford Prize for Cancer Research is an International Prize awarded in recognition of outstanding cancer research leading to significant clinical outcomes. The Prize, awarded at the biennial Barossa Meeting, consists of a Perpetual Trophy, an ad hominem glass sculpture and a magnum of Clarendon Hills ‘Astralis’. 

Previous awardees were Axel Ullrich (2005), Tony Hunter (2007), John Dick (2009), Vishva Dixit (2011), Arul Chinnaiyan (2013) and Inder Verma and Jane Visvader (2015) for their pioneering work in targeted cell therapies for cancer. The 2017 Prize will be awarded at the Eighth Barossa Meeting "Cell Signalling in Cancer Medicine" to be conducted 14-17 November 2017 in the Barossa Valley, South Australia. 

Nominations for the award should include the candidate’s full CV, and a brief description of the candidate’s contributions to cancer research, highlighting the impact of the work on cancer treatment. Nominations should be submitted by mail or email to:

Angela Ziaei, Executive Assistant to Professor AF Lopez

Director, Centre for Cancer Biology

Head, Human Immunology, SA Pathology

Frome Road, Adelaide SA 5000, Australia

T: + 61 8 8222 3422

F: + 61 8 8232 4092



Note that it is a requirement that the recipient of the award attends the Eighth Barossa Meeting to receive the award and to present a talk describing the work that has led to the award. 

Nominees will be judged by an independent panel of Australian Scientists together with previous winners.

Nominations close August 31st 2017